Raspberry Gratin

As a dieter, I find little indulgences really special. Which brings me to pinterest. I saw this post from Lottie + Doof and knew I had to make it.

For a long time I was afraid of fats and sugars, it’s taken me a while to realize that they’re ok, and even neccessary. This comes in at just 4 grams of sugar and 4 grams of fat. I am sold. And it’s delicious.

Lottie + Doof just said, have at it, you know what to do. So I did. Here’s my version of the recipe, single serve style.

Raspberry Gratin (Russian Gratin with Raspberries)
10 raspberries
2 tablespoons light sour cream
1 packed teaspoon brown sugar

Preheat broiler.

Place raspberries at the bottom of ramekin. Coat with sour cream. Top with an even layer of brown sugar.

Broil, ensuring the cream doesn’t burn, 5- 10 minutes.

Difficulty: 1 Easiest recipe yet and oh, so yummy!

Taste: 5 So yummy! I couldn’t slow myself down enough to savor every bite.

Clean-up: 1 This little ramekin is going straight into the dishwasher.

Overall: This is so satisfying. I even found myself gulping the last of the liquid from the dish. The boys didn’t get any. There is no way I am sharing.

What I’d do differently: For a real treat, I might use whole fat sour cream and a little bit more brown sugar. OOH! and more berries. Yes.

The reheat factor: That’s the beauty of single serving recipes, no leftovers.

Lottie + Doof got this from Smitten Kitchenwho got the recipe from the book New American Classics by Jeremiah Tower.

Leave a comment

Filed under dessert, fruit, gluten free

Leave a Reply

